Tokyo Tokyo at Ali Mall, Cubao

I’VE been trying to expand my son’s food preferences beyond fried chicken, french fries, and Philippine-American flavors, and this has dragged on for years. So imagine my surprise when out of the blue, he asked me to take him to Tokyo Tokyo, a local Japanese fast food joint, for the first time.

I confess that in all the years the chain has been around I haven’t eaten there yet as well, because when it comes to Asian fare, my first choice is Chinese, followed by Thai. Also, when eating at fast food joints I tend to stick to this notion that their food should cost up to a certain amount, and anything that exceeds that amount is subjected to close scrutiny and hesitation: why would I pay more for fast food fare when I could get it for less elsewhere? (By the same rule, I also often ask, why should I pay elsewhere for food that I can cook at home? But we’ll get to that later).

Nevertheless, a change would be more than welcome. So this would be another first for us both.

Once in a while, get out of your spending routine. Either buy something completely new, or don’t buy something you usually would. It can help you reevaluate your spending priorities.

My son had the Pork Katsudon, while I had the Shiitake Mushroom Burger with Nori Fries.

food food burgers

My burger seemed small at first, but it was like eating a brick. A deliciously juicy and protein-laden brick.

food burgers

The Pork Katsudon came in a big bowl that dwarfed the food, which also didn’t look like much at first glance. The drab presentation didn’t do it justice, because there was a lot of rice, and the entire dish was delicious. Even better, my son the picky eater loved it. He doesn’t like scrambled egges or omelets, but he tore into the dish’s omelet like it was nobody’s business.

Like the Pork Katsudon, my Shiitake Mushroom Burger looked deceptively miniscule inside its box and in my hand. But it was heavy and very tasty. There was a little too much sweet teriyaki sauce on the burger patty, though, because I feel the beef and the mushrooms could have stood on their own, flavor- and texture-wise. The Nori Fries were alright, in that the nori didn’t overpower the potato flavor, though on the whole it wasn’t spectacular.

As for the service, we arrived there at rush hour in the afternoon, and the cashier seemed a little tired. But she still made an attempt towards professional friendliness, and I appreciate that very much. I suppose my only complaint about the entire experience is that my burger took over 15 minutes to arrive at our table. But then, a decent burger like that is worth the wait.

Will we return? Yes. I am looking forward to trying out their other menu items, and my son already has his eyes on the tempura. If he likes it, it will be another first for him — and that is certainly worth setting a bigger fast food budget for.

Have you experienced spending more on a product or service that you usually pay less for? How did it go?

Carmela

Tokyo Tokyo Ali Mall
G/F Ali Mall, Gen. McArthur Ave. corner Times Square Ave., Araneta Center, Cubao
Quezon City, Metro Manila, Philippines

Phone Number: (+63 2) 995-0804

Official website

Facebook page

Leave a Reply

